home / news / Six years ago, FNATIC won the inaugural Major in CS:GO
November 30th, 2019

Six years ago, FNATIC won the inaugural Major in CS:GO

On November 30, 2013, the Swedish team FNATIC conquered the championship title of DreamHack Winter 2013. It was the first tournament in CS:GO that was supported by Valve. Later on, such events came to be known as the Majors.

fnatic dreamhack winter 2013

At the time, FNATIC pulled off an incredible upset. Ninjas in Pyjamas were the main favourites to win the tournament, as they were the #1 team in the world. FNC faced off against them in the very last match. There, they prevailed over NiP with a 2-1 score (16-14 Dust2, 6-16 Inferno, 16-2 Train).

At the end, Jesper "JW" Wecksell was named the most valuable player of DH Winter 2013. He averaged a 1.26 rating in 10 maps. The closest teammate to him in terms of statistics was Andreas "znajder" Lindberg, who scored a 1.20 KDR.

The line-up of FNATIC in late 2013:

  • Jesper "JW" Wecksell
  • Andreas "znajder" Lindberg
  • Markus "pronax" Wallsten
  • Robin "flusha" Rönnquist
  • Jonatan "Devilwalk" Lundberg

It’s been six years since that day, and the players’ lives took different paths. JW and flusha are still playing on the professional scene and continuing to represent the FNC tag. pronax decided to retire from competitive play and became the head of GODSENT CS:GO division, which is also coached by Devilwalk. znajder, on the other hand, has been inactive since April 2019.

In total, CS:GO has had fifteen Majors, with StarLadder Major Berlin 2019 being the last one in the list. The Danish team Astralis has earned the biggest amount of titles, as it managed to win four Valve-sponsored events in Global Offensive. FNATIC, in its turn, boasts three Major trophies on its record: DH Winter 13, ESL Katowice 15, and ESL Cologne 15.

According to the report of Jarek "DeKay" Lewis, the next CS:GO Major will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and it is set to be organized by ESL. The tournament will be running from 11 to 24 May of 2020.