home / news / Official: next CSGO Major to be held in Rio de Janeiro
December 11th, 2019

Official: next CSGO Major to be held in Rio de Janeiro

ESL will host the first CSGO Major Championship of 2020 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on May 11-24. The announcement was published on the company’s official website.

Jeunesse Arena, the total capacity of which is 18,000 seats, will be the venue for the final part of the tournament. In the past, this arena hosted such events as League of Legends Mid-Season Invitational and Rainbox Six Siege Pro League Finals.

The next CSGO World Championship is named ESL One Rio Major 2020. It is the first Major in the history of the game that will take place in South America. The prize pool of the event amounts to $1,000,000, which is the traditional sum of money for the Valve-sponsored tournaments.

Unlike StarLadder Major, the event’s Challengers Stage and Legends Stage are set to run behind closed doors. Also, ESL has confirmed that the Regional Minors will not be held on separate dates. The decisive phase of the qualifiers in four divisions is scheduled for April 26 - May 3.

Schedule of all stages for ESL One Rio Major 2020:

  • The New Challengers Stage - May 11-14
  • The New Legends Stage - May 16-19
  • The New Champions Stage - May 21-24

The current list of teams

Astralis AVANGAR
Evil Geniuses 100 Thieves
Team Liquid Team Vitality
mousesports G2 Esports
FaZe Clan North

Ulrich Schulze, Senior Vice President Product at ESL

"We are extremely excited and proud to host the next Major in Brazil. Our aim is to bring pure esports moments to the most passionate fans around the world and reward them by creating a unique experience on all levels. With teams from all over the world having a chance to qualify and making their way to the final, we expect the matches to be incredible and the crowd to be the loudest we have ever seen."

The format of ESL One Rio Major 2020 has remained the same since the event in Germany. In the Challengers Stage and the Legends Stage, the organizers will use the Swiss System. The tournament’s winner will be defined in the Champions Stage within a single-elimination bracket.

The Danish team, Astralis are the reigning world champions in CSGO, as they won the StarLadder Major in Berlin. Earlier, the Danes conquered the titles of the previous Valve Majors, FACEIT Major 2018 and IEM Katowice 2019. Besides that, Astralis also took the first place at ELEAGUE Major 2017. They are the only team in the Global Offensive history that has four Major trophies on its record.