home / news / Group stage draw for WePlay Bukovel Minor 2020 revealed
December 9th, 2019

Group stage draw for WePlay Bukovel Minor 2020 revealed

The organizers of the next Dota 2 Minor have unveiled the participants draw for the first stage of the tournament. Earlier, eight teams qualified for the upcoming WePlay Esports event, as they made it through the regional qualifiers that were held online.

bukovel minor

In Group A, Peter "ppd" Dager’s Ninjas in Pyjamas are set to compete with Geek Fam, Team Spirit, and Royal Never Give Up. In another quartet, Kuro "KuroKy" Salehi Takhasomi’s Nigma (ex-Liquid) were drawn with Fighting PandaS, FURIA Esports, and Gambit Esports. Team pairs for the opening round of matches are yet to be announced.

Matches of the Bukovel Minor group stage will run according to the GSL system, after which four strongest lineups would go on to battle it out in the Playoffs. In the last phase of the championship, remaining squads will fight in the bracket of Double Elimination. The competition’s winner will be defined in a best-of-five series.

Group A Group B
Team Spirit Fighting PandaS
Ninjas in Pyjamas FURIA Esports
Geek Fam Nigma
Royal Never Give Up Gambit Esports

The tournament’s venue is the Bukovel tourist complex, where all action is set to be happening on January 9-12. Participants of the event will struggle for a $300,000 prize-pool, 660 DPC points, and a highly-coveted spot at the next Dota Pro Circuit Major, DreamLeague Season 13.

The championship title of this season’s first DPC Minor, DOTA Summit 11 was conquered by Invictus Gaming, while it was TNC Predator who won MDL Chengdu Major 2019. Due to that, the Philippine squad took the lead in the rankings of Dota Pro Circuit, as they had earned 4950 points.