home / news / Fourth Major of current DPC season to be hosted in Moscow
December 23rd, 2019

Fourth Major of current DPC season to be hosted in Moscow

Epic Esports Events will organize one of the upcoming Majors of Dota Pro Circuit. The next tournament is named EPICENTER 2020. It will be running from 2 to 10 May, following all the standards of the DPC.

The announcement of this championship was made during EPICENTER 2019 in CSGO. There, viewers of the broadcast saw a 20-second teaser, in which the organizers revealed the dates for the future Major. As it has become known, the final part of the event is set to be held in CSKA Arena, on May 8-10.

Later, the press release was published, unveiling some information about the qualifiers for EPICENTER Major 2020. The closed qualifiers are scheduled for March 29 - April 1. As of now, it is unknown how the spots will be distributed across the participating regions, and when exactly the open qualifiers will take place. EEE promised to give more details in February.

Sixteen teams will participate in the fourth Major of the Dota Pro Circuit 2019-2020 season, gathering representatives of Europe, CIS, North and South America, Southeast Asia, and China. The prize pool of the event will be the same as for the other Valve-sponsored tournaments, $1,000,000 and 15000 DPC points.

Schedule of main stages:

  • Group Stage | May 2-3;
  • The first part of the Playoffs (in a studio) | May 4-6;
  • The final part of the Playoffs (in CSKA Arena) | May 8-10.

Now, we know locations for all DPC Majors prior to The International 2020. The second Major will be organized by DreamHack in Leipzig, Germany, and the third one — by ESL in Los-Angeles, USA. The fourth spot in the calendar was taken by EPICENTER in Moscow, and the fifth one — by ONE Esports in Singapore.

We remind you that MDL Chengdu Major 2019 was the inaugural Major of this season. There, the championship trophy was conquered by the Philippine team of TNC Predator, so they earned $300,000 of prize money and 4850 DPC points.